You are offline

Please check your internet connection.

Success

Thank you for creating your shortlist.

Success

Successfully added to your favourites list

Error

An error occurred adding to your favourites list

Success

Successfully removed from your favourites list

Sorry listing cannot be favourited

This listing cannot be favourited as we haven't added it to our listings yet. Please let us know about this issue at hello@travlr.com

false

9 Day Private Tour in Portugal

Come and visit Portugal with us, enjoy different places, in habits and customs, in tradition, discover our excellent gastronomy and our fantastic wines, on a tour without strict schedules that can be programmed with your companion every day, to know the our history represented by our ancient monuments that are the testimony of our past!

per adult from

$2,551

AUD

Duration

9 days

Pickup

Hotel pickup available

Voucher

Mobile ticket

Select Date and Travellers

No tour options available.

  • What's included :
    • WiFi on board
    • Private transportation
    • All Fees and Taxes
    • Bottled water
    • Entry/Admission - Douro River
    • Entry/Admission - Quinta do Crasto
    • Entry/Admission - Ferreira Cellars
    What's excluded :
    • Hotel
    • Food
    • Drinks
    • Entries to places to pay
    • Tips
    • Entry/Admission - Se de Lisboa ( Igreja de Santa Maria Maior )
    • Entry/Admission - Mosteiro dos Jeronimos
    • Entry/Admission - Torre de Belem
    • Entry/Admission - Padrao dos Descobrimentos
    • Entry/Admission - Park and National Palace of Pena
    • Entry/Admission - Sintra National Palace
    • Entry/Admission - Quinta da Regaleira
    • Entry/Admission - Cathedral of Evora (Se Catedral de Evora)
    • Entry/Admission - Capela dos Ossos
    • Entry/Admission - The Douro Valley
    • Entry/Admission - Livraria Lello
    • Entry/Admission - Torre dos Clerigos
    • Entry/Admission - Porto Cathedral (Se Catedral)
    • Entry/Admission - Igreja de Sao Francisco
    • Entry/Admission - Palacio da Bolsa

  • Day 1: Transfer to Lisbon Hotel - Lisbon City Private Tour

    Stop At: Se de Lisboa ( Igreja de Santa Maria Maior ), Largo da Se, Lisbon 1100-585 Portugal
    Visit to the exterior of the monument, entrance is optional and not included

    The Castelo de São Jorge is one of Lisbon’s most distinctive monuments, being situated on the city’s highest hill.

    The oldest known fortification at this spot dates from the 2nd century BC, although some of the remains found here date from as far back as the 6th century BC. Archaeological evidence has also made it possible to discover traces of the presence of Phoenicians, Greeks, Carthaginians, Romans and Muslims, confirming the human occupation of this area since very remote times.

    The castle itself was founded in the 10th and 11th centuries, when Lisbon was an important Moorish port. In 1147, the first king of Portugal, Dom Afonso Henriques, captured both the castle and the city from the Moors. The castle enjoyed its most important period between the 13th and 14th centuries. It was also here, in the 16th century that the king Dom Manuel I received Vasco da Gama after his sea voyage to India and that the first Portuguese theatre play, written by Gil Vicente, was performed to mark the birth of the king Dom João III.

    Declared a National Monument in 1910, the castle underwent major restoration work in the 20th century, which left it with its present-day appearance. It is one of the most important places in the city and a very popular leisure space amongst the people living in the neighbouring area. It is generally agreed to afford the best view over the city and the River Tagus.

    Inside the walls, you will find a museum, where you can see a presentation of the history of Lisbon, and the Torre de Ulisses (the Tower of Ulysses). The city’s legendary founder has given his name to the former Torre do Tombo, which now houses a camera obscura with a giant periscope that allows you to enjoy a 360º panoramic view of the city in real time.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Alfama, Lisbon Portugal
    Alfama is the oldest and one of the most typical neighborhoods in the city of Lisbon. Currently, it covers part of the parish of Santa Maria Maior and another part of the parish of São Vicente. Its name derives from the Arabic al-hamma (الحمّة), which means ‘hot water source, good water’.

    The most spectacular views of Alfama are from the public promenade formed by the viewpoints of Portas do Sol, the Tower of the Church of Santa Cruz do Castelo (the highest Tower in ancient Lisbon) and Santa Luzia. Above and surrounding Alfama are the hill of Castelo de São Jorge, fortress and royal palace until the 16th century, and the hill of São Vicente. In addition to the Castle, the main monuments in the area are the Cathedral, the Church of Santo Estêvão and the Church of São Vicente de Fora.

    Alfama is a very peculiar neighborhood in that it resembles an old village not only in appearance but also because it has a relatively small and close community. The neighborhood is frequented daily by Portuguese and foreign tourists, being considered as the smallest of the whole city of Lisbon. from 12 to 13 June.
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Se de Lisboa ( Igreja de Santa Maria Maior ), Largo da Se, Lisbon 1100-585 Portugal
    Visit of the monument dating from the 12th century

    Dedicated to the Mother of God since 1147.

    Dedicated to the Mother of God, Lisbon Cathedral is one of the city's gems and one of the most significant monuments in the country, due to its historical, religious and artistic value. Its construction began in 1147, when the first king of Portugal, D. Afonso Henriques, reconquered the city from the Moors. It was built on a Muslim mosque - which in turn, as the archaeological excavations confirmed, had been built on a previous Visigothic Christian temple.

    Although the city had already been a bishopric since at least the fourth century, and still had a Christian bishop at the time of the Christian Reconquest in the 12th century, the English crusader Gilbert de Hastings was appointed to this role and works were started under his guidance. The first architect was Mestre Roberto, a Frenchman likely of Norman origin, who also worked on the construction of Coimbra Cathedral and the Santa Cruz Monastery in the same city. At the time, D. Afonso Henriques, the first king of Portugal, ordered the relics of the martyr St. Vincent de Zaragoza to be brought from the Algarve and placed them in the Cathedral.

    The original building followed the canons of the Romanesque style, but between the 13th and 14th centuries it suffered its first changes. During the reign of D. Dinis, the cloister was built, in Gothic style. Later King D. Afonso IV ordered the construction of the ambulatory for his family pantheon, which made the Cathedral more apt to receive pilgrims who came to see the relics of St. Vincent. The ambulatory gave rise to ten chapels that have various names, some of them linked to the Virgin: the Chapel of Our Lady of Penha de França, the Chapel of Santa Ana, that of Saint Mary Major, and that of Our Lady of the Conception.

    In the 17th and 18th centuries, work was done in Baroque style, particularly in terms of decoration on the altars and in the main chapel. During the first half of the 20th Century, the Cathedral’s medieval character was restored.

    Inside, the chapel of Bartolomeu Joanes, an important bourgeois of medieval Lisbon, should be visited; excavations of the cloister exposed the successive occupations of this area. Although much of its former estate is preserved in museums (such as the Museum of Ancient Art), the Cathedral includes a collection, called the Treasury of the Patriarchal See, which can be visited.

    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Rossio Square, Praca Dom Pedro IV, Lisbon 1100-026 Portugal
    Reborn out of the wreckage of the 1755 earthquake, this lovely Lisbon square marks the northern reach of the Pombaline Downtown. It stretches out in a quadrilateral form dominated by the neo-classical harmony of the D. Maria II Theatre, built on the site of the former House of the Inquisition.

    According to the Marquis of Pombal, the Praça do Comércio would be the centre-point of the city and symbol of the new social order he wished to create for the Nation.
    However, as time moved on, it was Rossio, a bright and welcoming square, which established itself as the bourgeois forum for Lisbon.
    The square took on life with its hotels (now disappeared) that were filled with travellers, stores and tobacconists. There was also no short supply of that very Portuguese institution - the café. These would be the forums for talk, conspiracy, politics and the arts.

    Life has long since changed, but Café Nicola (on the western side) and the Pastelaria Suíça (the eastern) remain to bear testament to times gone by.
    At the centre is the 28 metre high column that was erected in 1870. On top is king Pedro IV who holds the Constitution in his right hand.
    Two monumental fountains were added in 1889, where florists now set out their wares.

    To the south, observe how the gracious arc forms the connection with the Rua dos Sapateiros. It is a fine piece of Pombaline architecture from the end of the 18th century with ornamental embellishments including a fine window with its veranda opening out onto the Square. Its construction was paid for by businessman Pires Bandeira and later became known as the Arch of Bandeira.

    The entire square recently underwent a complete makeover restoring the splendour of the original Portuguese cobbling with the central area featuring a combination of blue and white stones tracing the waves of the sea.
    Duration: 15 minutes

    Stop At: Parque Eduardo VII, Av. Sidonio Pais, Lisbon 1070-051 Portugal
    Stop at the top of Parque Eduardo VII to see a fantastic view over Lisbon

    The Eduardo VII Park lies in the Parish of São Sebastião da Pedreira, north from Avenida da Liberdade, and offers panoramic views over the city. Originally known as Parque da Liberdade, the gardens were rechristened with the name of the British King Edward VII on his visit to Lisbon in 1903.

    Since their earliest times the gardens have been a stage for fairs, exhibitions and various types of entertainment. Their design, with a central swathe of lawn flanked by Portuguese cobbles pavements, was by Keil do Amaral, and form one of the landmarks in the development of Lisbon.

    Here we can find a Sports Pavilion built in 1932 in the João V style, renamed the Carlos Lopes pavilion as a tribute to the famous Portuguese athlete, a Greenhouse with an enormous variety of plants from all over the world, lakes, and various statues including a bust of King Edward VII and a monument to the 25th April Revolution by João Cutileiro.

    There is also a children´s playground, a viewpoint, a bandstand, a picnic area, the Club VII sports complex with tennis courts, gymnasium and swimming pool, and a restaurant.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Mosteiro dos Jeronimos, Praca do Imperio Belém, Lisbon 1400-206 Portugal
    Visit to the exterior of the monument, entrance is optional and not included

    On the banks of the Tagus is an apogee of Manueline architecture.

    In the spot where the Jerónimos Monastery stands today, next to the old Belém beach, was originally a small hermitage dedicated to Santa Maria that had been built by the Infante D. Henrique, in 1452. At the start of the 16th century King Manuel I’s intention to have a large monastery erected there was acknowledged by the Holy See, and which was donated to the Order of the Friars of St. Jerome. The epitome of Manueline architecture and intrinsically linked to the Discoveries, this monastery is the most remarkable Portuguese monastic ensemble of its time and one of the main European churches.

    Construction on it began in 1501, lasted for a hundred years and was spearheaded by a remarkable group of architects and master builders both national and foreign. With an initial design by Frenchman Boytac, the work was continued by other Masters, namely João de Castilho and, in the middle of the century, Diogo de Torralva. After the arrival of the Portuguese in India, the Portuguese crown was able to fund the venture with money coming from trade with the East. King D. Manuel I channelled much of the so-called "Vintena da Pimenta" (a ‘Spice Tax’, approximately 5% of revenues from trade with Africa and the East, equivalent to 70kg of gold per year) to finance construction work.

    In this monument, classified by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site, it is worth noting the facades, the church and the cloisters. On the south facade, one can admire the portal painted by João de Castilho, where the figures are arranged according to a specific hierarchy: below, Infante D. Henrique guards the entrance, the Virgin of Bethlehem blesses the monument, and Archangel Saint Gabriel, the protector of Portugal, completes the arc. The western portal, through which one enters the sacred space, is the authorship of Nicolau Chanterenne. To the left, protected by St. Jerome, is the statue of King D. Manuel, which is said to be a realistic portrait, and to the right is that of Queen D. Maria, his wife, protected by St. John the Baptist.

    Inside there is the church-hall, a Manueline masterpiece by João de Castilho. Note how, in a remarkable architectural achievement, the beautiful vault of the transept is not supported by any columns. At the entrance, after the lower-choir, are the cenotaphs of the poet Luís de Camões, author of the epic poem "Os Lusíadas", and of Vasco da Gama, commander of the armada that in 1497 went to India. The kings, princes and descendants of D. Manuel I are buried in the side chapels. In the main chapel, later reconstructed by Jerónimo de Ruão, are the tombs of D. Manuel I, his son D. João III and their wives. Worthy of special mention is the solid silver tabernacle, a work of Portuguese silversmithy from the mid-17th century.

    The church visit is free
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Torre de Belem, Avenida Brasilia - Belem, Lisbon 1400-038 Portugal
    Visit to the exterior of the monument, entrance is optional and not included

    The harmony and delicate ornamentation of the Tower of Belém suggests a finely cut jewel to all laying eyes on her. However, its contemporaries took a rather different perspective: a formidable and imposing bastion defending the entrance to the Tagus and capable of combining firepower with the St Sebastian tower on the other bank of the river. Its construction was ordered by king Manuel I (1495-1521) and it was built by Francisco de Arruda between 1514 and 1521. The tower was built on a basalt island that was close to the right bank of the Tagus in front of Restelo beach. However, with the gradual change in the course of the river, the tower has ended practically swallowed up by the bank.

    The tower takes on a quadrangular shape reminiscent of medieval castles and has a polygon bulwark, a defensive feature that meant it could withstand heavy bombardment from out at sea. The watch posts, complete with burgeoning cupolas and located on each corner, demonstrate the influence of Moroccan fortifications. Apart from such Moorish influences, the decoration otherwise takes on the Manueline style in the surrounding stone layouts, the heraldic designs and even the famous rhinoceros, the first stone statue of the animal in Europe.

    The most highly decorated side of the Tower is south facing, with its narrow balcony. On the cloistral wall that rises above the bulwark, there is a sculptured image of the Virgin with Child dating back to the 18th century, forming the prow of the tower.

    The interior is worth a visit simply to get up to the top floor with the effort paid back many times over by wonderful views over the river Tagus estuary and the western side of a city that is still able to evoke the Era of Discovery in Portuguese history.

    In 1983, the Tower of Belém was classified World Heritage by UNESCO.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Padrao dos Descobrimentos Avenida Brasilia Belem, Lisbon 1400-038 Portugal
    Visit to the exterior of the monument, entrance is optional and not included

    The imposing Monument to the Discoveries stamps its mark on the riverside at Belém. It was designed in 1940 to commemorate the "Exposition of the Portuguese World", promoted by the Salazar government to celebrate the eighth and third centenaries of the founding and restoration of the Portuguese nation (1140 and 1640 respectively). However, it was only built in 1960 for commemorations marking 500 years since the death of Prince Henry the Navigator. Designed by architect Cottinelli Telmo, it features the work of sculptor Leopoldo de Almeida.

    52 metres in height, the monument symbolises a caravel, headed by the figure of Prince Henry the Navigator followed by a cortege of 32 leading figures from the Era of the Discoveries including, for example, king Afonso V (1432-81), the driving force behind the first discoveries, Vasco da Gama (1460-1524) who discovered the maritime route to India, Pedro Álvares Cabral (1467-1520), who discovered Brazil and Fernando Magellan, who completed the circumnavigation of the globe in 1522, among others.

    The façade facing down to the ground takes on the form of a cross decorated by the Sword of the Order of Aviz, the main financial sponsor of the voyages.
    Duration: 15 minutes

    Stop At: Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco), Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 1C, Lisbon 1100-053 Portugal
    This is one of the most beautiful squares in all Europe, opening southwards onto the huge Tagus estuary.
    Until the era of mass aviation, this was Lisbon´s great reception hall for visitors arriving by sea even better able to enjoy its beauty from their vantage points on slowly docking vessels.
    It was at the dock here that the Kings and Heads of State would disembark when visiting Portugal.

    Prior to the 1755 earthquake, it was called the Terreiro do Paço (Royal Yard). The Royal Palace had been sited on the western side of the square since the 16th century when king Manuel transferred the court down from the Castle of São Jorge (St. George).
    In 1580, Filipe I of Portugal ordered the building of a new square with the work the responsibility of Filippo Terzi and Juan Herrera (the architect responsible for the Escorial).

    Everything was destroyed by the earthquake. The name Praça do Comércio (Commercial Square) belongs to the Pombal era and represents the new social order that the minister to king José I wanted to favour and promote: the trading, financial and bourgeois classes that had contributed so much to rebuilding the city.

    In the geometric centre of the Square, and facing the river, there is a statue of José I, mounted on his horse Gentil, the work of sculptor Machado de Castro.
    It was unveiled with all due pomp and circumstance on 6th June 1775, the king´s birthday. He discreetly viewed the event from one of the windows in the Customs building. The celebrations lasted three days and included a gigantic banquet for all the people of Lisbon.
    On a pedestal by the riverside, there is a likeness of Pombal (removed when the minister fell into disgrace but replaced by the Liberals in 1834) raised onto the royal shield. The sculpted figures on either side represent Triumph, with a horse, and Fame, with an elephant, in a clear allusion to Portugal´s overseas possessions. On the rear side of the pedestal, in low relief, there is an allegoric representation of royal generosity towards a city in ruins with Commerce opening up a chest full of money that is placed at the disposition of this royal generosity.

    Underneath the northern arcade, right by the entrance to Rua do Ouro, make sure you stick your head into the Martinho da Arcada café-restaurant. This is a reference for the city and a most cultured destination.
    Before heading up Rua Augusta, which leads onto Rossio, take a moment to look at the Triumphal Arch which overlooks the thoroughfare.
    Duration: 20 minutes

    Stop At: Parque das Nacoes, Parque das Nacoes, Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal
    Panoramic tour through the most modern district of Lisbon, Parque das Nações

    magine a site that offers some of the most daring examples of contemporary architecture, the Oceanarium, one of the largest in Europe, delightful thematic gardens, exhibition centres, shows and events. All located along a breathtaking 5 km stretch of the Tagus riverfront, in the heart of Lisbon, with easy access and parking, and benefiting from a wide array of shops, restaurants and bars.

    Only five minutes from Lisbon International Airport, Parque das Nações builds on the heritage of EXPO'98 - the last world exposition of the twentieth century. An invented city turned into reality.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    No meals included on this day.
    No accommodation included on this day.

    Day 2: Fátima, Batalha, Nazaré and Óbidos Private Tour

    Stop At: Sanctuary of Our Lady of Fátima, 2495-402 Fátima, Portugal
    The Shrine of Fatima, formally titled by the Catholic Church as Shrine of Our Lady of the Rosary of Fatima, is a Marian shrine dedicated to Our Lady of Fatima, located in the place of Cova da Iria, in the city of Fatima, municipality of Ourém, in Portugal. .

    The Shrine of Fatima is, par excellence, a place of Christian pilgrimage and Catholic devotion, preserving the memory of the events that led to its foundation, namely the apparitions of Our Lady to the three shepherds - Lucia dos Santos, Francisco and Jacinta Marto - in 1917 Its magnitude and relevance from a religious point of view has long been consensually recognized, nationally and internationally. By express will of the Holy Apostolic See, this is a National Shrine. It is also one of the most important Marian shrines in the world belonging to the Catholic Church and the largest international destination for religious tourism, receiving about six million visitors a year. He was distinguished with three papal golden roses and visited by Pope Paul VI (1967), John Paul II (1982, 1991 and 2000), Benedict XVI (2010) and Francis (2017).

    Its construction began in 1919 with the construction of the Chapel of the Apparitions; Over the years the sanctuary has been expanded to include two basilicas, representing a significant increase in the capacity of sheltering pilgrims indoors. However, the various urban plans created to order their growth have had little practical effect, and the complex that we see today is the result more of timely interventions that met the needs of the moment than of unified and long-term planning. On the other hand, the powerful impetus generated by the Fatima Shrine was responsible for the exponential growth of a previously undeveloped area of ​​the country.

    Stylistically diversified, incorporating revivalist buildings alongside other more modern ones, the Fátima Sanctuary is composed mainly by the Chapel of the Apparitions, the Prayer Hall (outside), the Basilica of Our Lady of the Rosary and the respective Colonnade, the vast Basilica of the Most Holy Trinity, the retreat houses of Our Lady of Carmo and Our Lady of Sorrows, a Way of the Cross in the Valinhos and the Paul VI Pastoral Center. It also has cultural spaces and several other buildings for the administrative sectors, pilgrim reception, medical care, commerce, meetings and congresses, and other activities. The sanctuary also had the contribution of artists of various generations, national and international, who made a numerous and diverse set of works there.
    Duration: 2 hours

    Stop At: Basilica da Santissima Trindade, Cova da Iria - Santuario de Nossa Senhora de Fatima, Fatima 2496 Portugal
    This Basilica is the latest construction of the Fatima Sanctuary complex and is dedicated to the worship of the Holy Trinity. The intention of building a new temple there dates back to 1973, as it was found that the Basilica of Our Lady of the Rosary of Fatima was no longer large enough to welcome all the pilgrims, particularly on Sundays and other days of medium affluence. In 1997, through Monsignor Luciano Guerra, the Shrine of Fatima organized an international competition for the design of a new building next to Pius XII Square, with a scale appropriate to the real needs. The laying of the first stone took place on June 6, 2004, Solemnity of the Holy Trinity; Three years later the work was completed, and the church was dedicated on October 12, 2007 by Cardinal Tarcisio Bertone, then Vatican Secretary of State and Benedict XVI's legacy to close the 90th anniversary of the apparitions of Our Lady. On 13 August 2012 the church was elevated to the category of Basilica.
    The new church was dedicated to the Holy Trinity for a number of reasons, including the following: the apparitions of the Angel of Peace, with his insistent invitation to worship God, the Holy Trinity; the words of John Paul II in May 1982, spoken in the Chapel of Apparitions, by which he raised his thanksgiving to the Holy Trinity; the Great Jubilee of the Year 2000, also dedicated to the Holy Trinity.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Valinhos Sanctuary, Via sacra, Aljustrel Portugal
    The Valinhos correspond to the lands that the three little shepherds of Fatima traveled from their houses in Aljustrel to the Cova da Iria for the grazing of their herds. It was here that two of the apparitions of the Angel of Portugal (or Angel of Peace) took place in 1916 (and where the children even learned the Prayers of the Angel), and an apparition of the Virgin Mary on August 19, 1917. .

    Today, the Valinhos are visited by thousands of Portuguese and foreign pilgrims who travel along the Via Sacra to the Hungarian Calvary, visit the St. Stephen's Chapel of Hungary and from there to visit the House of Lucia and the House of Francis. and Jacinta Marto in the village of Aljustrel.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Batalha Monastery, Largo Infante Dom Henrique 2440, Batalha 2440-484 Portugal
    Santa Maria da Vitória Monastery, better known as Batalha Monastery, is a Dominican monastery located in the village of Batalha, in the Centro region, Beira Litoral province, in Portugal, which was built in 1386 by King D. João I of Portugal as thanks to the Virgin Mary for the victory against the Castilian rivals in the battle of Aljubarrota. This monastery of the Order of Saint Dominic was built over two centuries until about 1563, during the reign of seven kings of Portugal, although the first Dominican friars had lived there since 1388. An example of late Gothic Portuguese architecture, or Manueline style, is considered a world heritage site by UNESCO, and on 7 July 2007 was elected as one of the Seven Wonders of Portugal. In Portugal, IPPAR still classifies it as a National Monument since 1910. Since 2016, it has the status of National Pantheon.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Nazare, Nazare, Leiria District, Central Portugal
    Nazaré beach, with a mild climate and natural beauty, has one of the oldest traditions in Portugal linked to the fishing arts.

    The long, crescent-shaped sandy beach, which is also the city's seafront, is known for its grandeur and the brightly colored awnings that decorate the white sand beach in contrast to the blue water.

    This is the beach in Portugal where the fishing traditions are more colorful and it is not uncommon to meet the fishmongers who still wear the seven skirts, as tradition dictates. On a late Saturday afternoon in the summer months, it is essential to sit on the wall watching the interesting show of "Arte Xávega" in which the nets loaded with fish come from the sea and the women shout their trading sessions. If we don't understand the words exactly, it is nothing to worry about. These are codes that often only they know.

    Facing the sea, on the right side, we see an impressive promontory. This is Sítio, where we have one of the best known panoramic views of the Portuguese coast. There are 318 meters of rock falling to the sea, which can be reached on foot, for the bravest, or ascending by elevator. At the top, we find the small Hermitage of Memory, which tells the legend of the miracle that Our Lady did by preventing the horse of a nobleman, D. Fuas Roupinho, from jumping on the precipice. True or not, at the Suberco Viewpoint the sign left on the rock by the horseshoe is shown, on this foggy morning of 1182. At the Site, we can also visit the Nossa Senhora da Nazaré Sanctuary and not far away, the Dr. Joaquim Manso Museum to find out more details about Nazarene traditions.

    From Sítio and with time for a walk, crossing Parque da Pedralva, you arrive at Pederneira, a natural viewpoint with an unmissable view over the coast of Nazaré.

    Currently, the great attraction of this city are the waves and the surf, thanks to the “Canhão da Nazaré”, an underwater geomorphological phenomenon that allows the formation of giant and perfect waves. It is the largest submerged gorge in Europe, with about 170 kilometers along the coast, which reaches 5000 meters in depth.

    Hawaiian surfer Garrett McNamara gave him world visibility when, in 2011, he made the biggest wave in the world on a sandy bottom, with about 30 meters, in Praia do Norte, winning the Billabong XXL Global BigWave Awards and breaking a record of the Guinness Book. Like him, surfers from all over the world visit Nazaré every year to venture into the sea, especially during the winter. Between November and March, we wait patiently for the biggest waves to reveal themselves, during a long stage of the world championship of giant waves, the Nazaré Tow Surfing Challenge. On the beach, sunbathing is also appreciated and an excellent audience to appreciate the achievements of these young people.

    In order to get to know Nazaré, a relaxed walk through the narrow streets, perpendicular to the beach, and a break at one of the restaurants to enjoy a dish of fresh seafood, grilled fish or an appetizing stew. And in the evening, there is nothing like enjoying the setting sun on any terrace overlooking the sea, while the lights come on and it gets dark.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Obidos Village, Obidos Portugal
    Due to its excellent location by the sea and as the arms of the lagoon reached the hill, these lands have always been inhabited, which is confirmed by the Lower Paleolithic station of Outeiro da Assenta. Here was formed a Celtibero castro, facing west. The Phoenicians are known to have traded here, and today with more property than the Romans settled here, and it is likely that the south tower of the Facho originated from a Roman-built watchtower tower as the outpost of the city of Eburobrittium. , large urban city found and in the process of archaeological work.

    On January 11, 1148, the first king, D. Afonso Henriques, supported by Gonçalo Mendes da Maia, took Obidos to the Arabs after the previous November siege. The Memory Cruise is a simple monument of the time, later restored. Obidos belonged to the defensive pentagon (of the five castles) of the center of the kingdom, idealized by the Templars.

    With the offer of Óbidos as a wedding gift of D. Dinis to his wife D. Isabel, the village belonged to the House of Rainhas, only extinct in 1834, and here passed most of the queens of Portugal, leaving great benefits. D. Catarina orders the aqueduct and fountains to be built. The administrative reform of D. Manuel I gives to Óbidos in 1513 new Foral, being this time very intense in urban requalifications.

    The 1755 earthquake made it feel strongly in the village, knocking down parts of the wall, as well as some temples and buildings, as well as altering some aspects of the Arab and medieval hull and layout. Óbidos was also the scene of the Peninsular War fights, having been here the great battle of Roliça, which in time belonged to the "term" of Óbidos.

    More recently the village was the scene of the preparatory meeting of the April 25 Revolt, thus becoming linked to the brave and heroic movement of the captains.
    Duration: 1 hour

    No meals included on this day.
    No accommodation included on this day.

    Day 3: Sintra, Cabo da Roca, Cascais and Estoril

    Stop At: Park and National Palace of Pena, Estrada da Pena, Sintra 2710-609 Portugal
    The fantastic Pena Palace is one of the greatest examples of the romantic revival of the century. XIX in Portugal.

    Located in Monte da Pena, the Palace was built on the site of an old convent of friars of the Order of São Jerónimo. It was the result of the imagination of D. Fernando de Saxe Coburgo-Gotha, who married Queen D. Maria II in 1836. In love with Sintra, he decided to acquire the convent and the surrounding lands to build the summer palace of the royal family.

    The consort king adopted Portuguese architectural and decorative forms for the palace, in the revivalist style (neo-gothic, neo-manueline, neo-islamic, neo-renaissance) and in the surroundings he decided to make a magnificent English-style park, with the most varied tree species exotic.

    Inside, still decorated to the taste of the kings who lived there, the chapel stands out, where you can see a magnificent alabaster marble altarpiece attributed to Nicolau Chanterenne (one of the architects of the Jerónimos Monastery, in Lisbon). Also worthy of mention are the mural paintings in trompe l'oeil and the tile coverings.
    Duration: 3 hours

    Stop At: Centro Historico de Sintra, Sintra 2710-616 Portugal
    Time to stroll through the narrow streets of the village of Sintra and take the opportunity to taste its conventual confectionery.

    The following are two options for viewing:

    1 - National Palace;
    2 - Quinta da Regaleira

    A beautiful town at the foot of the mountain range of the same name, its unique characteristics have led UNESCO to classify it as a World heritage site. It was even necessary to create a special category for the purpose - that of "cultural landscape" - taking into account its natural riches as well as the historic buildings in the town and mountains. Endowed with luxuriant vegetation, the mountains are part of the Sintra-Cascais Natural Park.

    From early times Sintra has been the place of choice for the settlement of various peoples who have passed through the Iberian Peninsula and left traces of their presence, which are now displayed in the Archaeological Museum of Odrinhas, in the outskirts of the town.

    In the 12th century, Dom Afonso Henriques, the first King of Portugal, captured the Moorish Castle, and his successors later built their holiday residence. Their physiognomy is marked by the two enormous conical chimneys built in the Middle Ages.

    Much appreciated by kings and nobles as a country resort, and praised by writers and poets like (inevitably) Lord Byron who called it "glorious Eden", Sintra has a wealth of cottages and manor houses, some of which now provide accommodation in the form of country-house tourism.

    The palaces, too, are outstanding, such as the Pena Palace, built in the Romantic period on one of the mountain peaks, and the 18th century Palace of Seteais, now converted into an elegant hotel, and the Palace of Monserrate, famous for its beautiful gardens with their exotic species that are unique in the country.

    Sintra's confectionery deserves a special mention, particularly the travesseiros (puff pastes stuffed with a sweet eggy mixture) and the famous cheese-cakes, which according to ancient documents were already being made in the 12th century, and were part of the rent payments.

    Near Sintra are the beaches (das Maças, Praia Grande, Praia da Adraga), Cabo da Roca (the westernmost point of mainland Europe), Colares (after which a demarcated wine-growing region is named), and the picturesque village of Azenhas do Mar, inset in a cliff.
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Sintra National Palace, Largo Rainha Dona Amelia, Sintra 2710-616 Portugal
    The ancient history of Paço da Vila de Sintra begins during the Muslim rule in the Iberian Peninsula. Already mentioned in the 11th century, the primitive Moorish palace - owned by the Portuguese crown after the conquest of Lisbon by D. Afonso Henriques (1147), 1st King of Portugal - is intervened for the first time in 1281, during the reign of D. Dinis. New construction bodies are added over time, under the reigns of D. Dinis, D. João I and D. Manuel I, maintaining their silhouette since the middle of the 16th century.

    The arrangement of spaces in height, adapting to the terrain; the intimate organization of the indoor open air patios, where you can hear the water running; its windows with outdated arches; and the tile coverings of rich geometric patterns, show the Moorish connection of the craftsmen who built and embellished the Palace.
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Quinta da Regaleira, Rua Barbosa do Bocage, Sintra 2710-567 Portugal
    Quinta da Regaleira is one of the most amazing monuments in the Serra de Sintra. Located at the end of the historic center of the village, it was built between 1904 and 1910, in the last period of the monarchy.

    The romantic domains formerly belonging to Viscondessa da Regaleira, were acquired and expanded by Dr. António Augusto Carvalho Monteiro (1848-1920) to found his place of choice. Holder of a prodigious fortune, which earned him the nickname Monteiro dos Milhões, he associated with his unique architecture and landscape project the creative genius of the Italian architect and scenographer Luigi Manini (1848-1936) as well as the mastery of sculptors, stonemasons and carvers who had worked with him at the Palace Hotel in Buçaco.

    A man of scientific spirit, a vast culture and rare sensitivity, a remarkable bibliophile, a discerning collector and a great philanthropist, he left in this stone book the vision of a cosmology, a synthesis of the spiritual memory of humanity, whose roots immerse themselves in the Lusa and Universal Mythic Tradition. The architecture and art of the palace, chapel and other buildings were designed in the context of an Edenic garden, highlighting the predominance of neo-Manueline and Renaissance styles.

    The garden, a representation of the microcosm, is revealed by the succession of places imbued with magic and mystery. Paradise is materialized in coexistence with an inferius - a Dantesque underground world - to which the neophyte would be led by Ariadne's thread of initiation.

    With these scenarios, the representation of an initiatory journey, like vera peregrinatio mundi, through a symbolic garden where we can feel the Harmony of the Spheres and examine the alignment of an asceticism of consciousness that travels through the great epics, materializes. In it are glimpsed references to mythology, Olympus, Virgil, Dante, Camões, the Templar mission of the Order of Christ, great mystics and thaumaturges, the enigmas of Real Art, the Magical Work of Alchemy. In this stone symphony, the poetic and prophetic dimension of a Portuguese Philosopher's Mansion is revealed. Here Heaven and Earth merge in a sensitive reality, the same that presided over the theory of the Beautiful, of Architecture and of Music, that the acoustic shell of the Terrace of the Celestial Worlds allows to propagate for the infinite.
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Estrada Cabo da Roca, Colares 2705-001 Portugal
    Cabo da Roca is the westernmost point of the European continent or, as Luís Vaz de Camões wrote, the place “Where the Earth ends and the sea begins” (in Os Lusíadas, Canto VIII). A stone pattern with a headstone marks this geographical feature to all who visit this place.
    Cabo da Roca is also called “Focinho da Roca” by people linked to things of the sea, and more poetically by “Promontório da Lua”, It is integrated in the Sintra Cascais Natural Park, which encompasses a vast area of ​​natural interest and beauty landscape from Cascais Citadel to the mouth of the Falcão River. From Cabo da Roca it is possible to follow several eco-trails.
    In Cabo da Roca, the visitor is faced with a spectacular landscape, an imposing lighthouse and various infrastructures. It is also in this place that one of the rarest plant species is found, the "armeria pseudoarmeria".
    Being located in an area with easy access and a large number of tourists, many people visit it.
    Duration: 15 minutes

    Stop At: Guincho Beach, Parque Natural Sintra-Cascais, Cascais Portugal
    In the vicinity of Cascais, the extensive sandy beach of Praia do Guincho is very popular with swimmers during the summer season and all year round for surfers and windsurfers, sports for which this beach offers excellent conditions.

    Along the road by the sea, countless restaurants of excellent quality offer excellent dishes of fresh fish and seafood.
    Duration: 15 minutes

    Stop At: Cascais, Cascais, Lisbon District, Central Portugal
    Located by the sea and traditionally a fishing village, Cascais had an important development in the 19th century. XIV, when it was a busy port of call for ships heading for Lisbon.

    However, it was from the 2nd half of the century. XIX, when the sea baths began to be appreciated, that Cascais suffered an impulse that transformed it into a very fashionable summer resort. The main driver of the transformation was the King of Portugal D. Luís I, who in 1870 converted the citadel fortress into the summer residence of the Portuguese monarchy. This example was followed by the nobility who built mansions and beautiful houses where the hottest time of the year was spent, completely transforming the old fishing village.

    Cascais also started to attract strollers, whose access was made easier by the inauguration of the Railway Line between Pedrouços and Cascais in 1889. Today, Cascais is a very lively and cosmopolitan place, which still retains its aristocratic air .

    It is recommended to stroll through its streets that have excellent quality stores or a few moments of rest in one of the many terraces that exist here. The beaches continue to be one of the biggest reasons for attraction, being possible to choose between those located in the sheltered bay of the village, or those that are a little further away in the Guincho area (already integrated in the Sintra-Cascais Natural Park) that offer excellent conditions for surfing and windsurfing. Boca do Inferno, an indentation of the coast surrounded by steep cliffs and caves, remains a natural curiosity that attracts many visitors to see the strength of the sea.

    Highlight for gastronomy, especially fresh fish and seafood, which can be enjoyed in the many restaurants in the region.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Pass By: Estoril Park, Rua Portugal 1100 Bairro Estoril, Sao Bernardo Do Campo, State of Sao Paulo 09832-400 Brazil
    World renowned resort, Estoril is a true cosmopolitan center with great nightlife and has all the necessary infrastructure for a great summer center - beaches, excellent hotels, golf courses, a casino and even a race track.

    It was at the beginning of the century. XX, that the planned transformation of this location began, due not only to the proximity of the sea that was beginning to be a pole of attraction, but also due to the existence of thermal springs then very fashionable.

    The center of this new luxury resort was the Park and the Casino (ex-libris of Estoril), surrounded by arcade buildings and excellent hotels.

    Previously, Estoril was known for the various forts on the coast that ensured the defense of one of the possible entrances to Lisbon and for the gathering built by the Mendicant Order of the Franciscan Friars in the century. XVI transformed into the College of Salesians.

    Since 1930, Estoril has become one of the main exponents of tourism in Portugal, having been the chosen place for the exile of many deposed European monarchs, among whom may be the King of Spain D. Juan Carlos.

    During World War II it was the refuge of writers, politicians, artists, businessmen and many Jews persecuted by the III Reich.

    No meals included on this day.
    No accommodation included on this day.

    Day 4: Evora and Monsaraz

    Stop At: Centro Historico de Evora, Evora 7000 Portugal
    Topped by an imposing cathedral, Évora is laid out over a gently sloping hill rising out of the huge Alentejo plain. It guards its historic centre with a vast outer wall and represents a valuable cultural legacy that UNESCO has classified World Heritage.

    The city, with its narrow streets of Moorish origin contrasting with squares where the light floods in, holds two millennia of hsitory. Conquered in 59 B.C. by the Romans, they named it "Liberalitas Julia". In this period, Évora gained great importance as can be witnessed from the remains of that time: the ruins of a fine temple dated towards the end of the second century, various parts of the wall and the gateway more recently called Dona Isabel in addition to the remains of thermal baths below what is now the Municipal Council building.

    Little remains of the Visigoth period (5th - 8th centuries). There then followed the Moorish period begun with the city's conquest by Tárique. This lasted through to Christian reconquest in the 12th century. Yeborah, as it became known, had already received an indelible Moorish influence, most clearly seen in the Mouraria neighbourhood.

    After the Reconquest, in addition to between the inner and outer walls, urban development moved beyond the city's walls. The city was home to the court of various Portuguese kings of the first and second dynasties. During this period it was endowed with various palaces and monuments, particularly during the reigns of kings João II and Manuel (15th and 16th centuries).

    Wander its streets and absorb the secret soul that a diverse range of cultural influences has laid down in this city of the World. There are also excellent restaurants and bars, esplanades, arts and handicraft stores and the youthful nature of those attending its university all adding up to a dynamic of the present with its roots very firmly in the past.
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Templo Romano de Evora (Templo de Diana), Largo do Conde de Vila Flor Dentro da Muralha, Evora 7000-804 Portugal
    The Roman Temple, over 2000 years old, is the ex-libris monument of Évora and is one of the most important historic ruins in the country.

    The Roman temple in Évora was built in the first century, during the time of Caesar Augustus. It has a long history, serving as testimony to many transformations and different uses over the centuries. It was practically destroyed when the Barbarians occupied the Iberian peninsular in the fifth century, and served as a bank vault and butcher’s to Evora castle in the 14th century.

    Its original Roman design was only recovered in the 19th century, in one of the first archaeological interventions in Portugal. It is a testimony to the Roman forum of the city of Évora, consecrated to the Imperial cult, thus clarifying a 17th-century tradition that claimed that the temple had been consecrated to the goddess Diana. For this reason, it was identified for many years as the Temple of Diana. Recent excavations have shown that it was surrounded by a portico and water mirror.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Cathedral of Evora (Se Catedral de Evora), Largo do Marques de Marialva, Evora 7000-809 Portugal
    The largest medieval cathedral in Portugal.

    A fortified church with Gothic features, Évora Cathedral is the largest cathedral in Portugal. Initiated in 1186, consecrated in 1204, and immediately used as one of the main temples of the Marian cult, it was only complete in 1250. It is a monument that showcases the transition from the Romanesque to the Gothic style, with Renaissance and Baroque additions introduced later.

    The facade is flanked by two towers, both medieval, with the bells being placed in the south tower. The north tower houses a number of valuable treasures belonging to the Museum of the Sacred Art; some unique priceless pieces, such as the image of the Virgin of Paradise, a figurine of the Virgin and Child that opens up from the lap and portrays an altarpiece with various scenes of the Birth and Passion. The remarkable central dome, built at the end of the 13th century during the reign of King Dinis, is the Cathedral’s true showstopper. The main portico is one of the most impressive Portuguese gothic portals, with master sculptures of the Apostles made in the 14th century by Master Pêro, a leading name in national Gothic sculptures. Besides the main portico there are two other entrances: the Porta do Sol, facing south, with Gothic arches; and the North Gate, rebuilt in the Baroque period.

    The interior is divided into three naves about 80 metres long. In the central nave you can see the altar of Our Lady of the Angel (locally known as Nossa Senhora do Ó), with polychrome marble images of the Virgin and the Angel Gabriel. The 18th-century altar and the marble chapel in Estremoz are Baroque works by J.F. Ludwig, known as Ludovice, who was the architect of the Palace of Mafra, at the service of King John V (1706-1750). In the chapel, a beautiful crucifix known as the "Father of the Christ" is displayed above the painting of Our Lady of the Assumption.

    In the transept, see the ancient Chapels of Saint Lawrence and the Holy Christ, and the Chapels of the Relics and the Blessed Sacrament, decorated with gilded carvings. At the northern tip is the spectacular Renaissance portal of the Chapel of the Morgados do Esporão. And in the upper-choir is a very valuable renaissance chair carved in oak wood, and an organ of great proportions, also of the 18th century.

    You can also visit the gothic cloister, dated 1325, and climb to the terrace, from where you can enjoy a beautiful panorama over the entire city of Évora, since the Cathedral is located at its highest point.


    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Igreja de Sao Francisco, Praca 1 de Maio, Evora 7000-656 Portugal
    Church of São Francisco - Évora

    One of the striking features of the façade is a church porch with arches of different styles - a typical example of the "marriage" between Gothic and Moorish style found in so many monuments of this region in Portugal. Over the Manueline doorway we can see the emblems of the kings that commissioned its construction - D. João II and D. Manuel I - whose emblems were the pelican and armillary sphere respectively.

    One particularity of the Church is that it has a single nave, terminating in a ribbed vaulted ceiling, that has the largest span of all Portuguese Gothic architecture. On the sides we can see twelve chapels, all covered in Baroque carved woodwork. The main chapel, dating from the early 16th century, still maintains important Renaissance features such as the pulpits. It's well worth noting the harmonious decoration of stone, carved woodwork and azulejo tiles in the chapel of the third order, on one of the arms of the transept.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Capela dos Ossos, Praca 1 de Maio, Evora 7000-650 Portugal
    Inside Church of São Francisco, visitors can see the strange Bones Chapel, built during the Filippine period (17th-century). The pillars and walls are completely covered by bones. It's also worth noting the late Renaissance doorway where the capitals of the columns seem to be decorated in a different manner according to whether one is looking from the exterior or interior.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Monsaraz Castle and Walls, Largo do Castelo, Monsaraz 7200-175 Portugal
    This extremely beautiful mediaeval town has succeeded in preserving its own distinctive characteristics over the centuries. Walking through the streets of Monsaraz is like going back in time, for it is a truly unique place where one can find all the peace and tranquillity that have been forgotten by the modern era.

    The most immediate visual impression in the town is that of the whitewash and schist of its houses and buildings. Every year, throughout the month of July, Monsaraz becomes an open-air museum, affording visitors the opportunity to get to know more about the customs and habits used in the production of Alentejo handicraft, appreciate the delights of the regional cuisine and enjoy the various cultural events that are held there, including music, theatre, dance and art exhibitions.

    As far as the town's architectural heritage is concerned, the highlights are the mediaeval castle and keep, the former court building (built between the fourteenth and the sixteenth centuries) and the parish church of Nossa Senhora da Lagoa (dating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries).
    Duration: 2 hours

    No meals included on this day.
    No accommodation included on this day.

    Day 5: Serra da Estrela

    Stop At: Covilha, Covilha, Castelo Branco District, Central Portugal
    Lying among rivers and mountains, the city of Covilhã is one of the gateways to the Serra da Estrela.

    The original inhabitants of the land were Lusitanian shepherds. Covilhã was reconquered from the Moors by King Dom Sancho I, who built city walls to protect it. It became a strategic point in the Middle Ages, especially in the reign of Dom Dinis, who set about reinforcing the defence of the territory.

    The town was granted royal status by Dom Manuel, who gave it a new charter in 1510, and it was also a land of discoverers. Prince Henry the Navigator was given the title Lord of Covilhã by his father, King Dom João I, after conquering Ceuta in 1415.

    It was the birthplace of Pêro da Covilhã, the explorer sent to the Orient by King Dom João II, and whose information helped Vasco da Gama to discover the sea route to India.

    One of Covilhã's claims to fame is the art of making woollen goods. This began in the time of Dom Sancho I, and was developed by the Jewish community that settled here at that time, where they remained until the 15th century. The textile industry, which produced all the uniforms for the Portuguese army during the reign of Dom João V, was given a new boost when the Marquis of Pombal established the Royal Cloth Factory here, making it into the country's largest centre for the production of woollen goods. Due to ecomomic growth that followed, Covilhã was raised to the status of a city in 1870.

    A visit to Covilhã's historic heritage should not omit the old Judiaria (Jewish Quarter), with its narrow streets and Manueline windows, the Chapel of São Martinho, the Chapel of Santa Cruz and the Wool Museum.

    In Covilhã and surrounding areas, discover the Land of Castles and Historical Villages, the Wool Route, the Old Judiarias Route, and the Serra da Estrela Nature Reserve, by taking one of the itineraries that show you the region's natural and cultural heritage. Find us on the Covilhã Council website.
    Duration: 15 minutes

    Stop At: Serra da Estrela, Serra da Estrela, Guarda District, Central Portugal
    In summer or winter, mainland Portugal’s highest mountain is the perfect scenery for a few relaxing days in contact with nature.

    At 1,993 metres at its highest point in Torre, Serra da Estrela is an area of rare landscape beauty, with striking mountain drops, where you can have a deep experience of the silence of the heights. Take advantage of those moments of communion with nature to observe it, discovering the diversity of plants and birds and the flocks of sheep herded by Estrela dogs from the breed named after the Mountain.

    You can also follow the course of some major Portuguese rivers from their sources: the Mondego at Mondeguinho, the Zêzere at Covão de Ametade and the Alva at the Rossim Valley are breathtaking places. Or you can admire glacier valleys at Loriga, Manteigas or Covão do Urso and Covão Grande. In the warmest months, the best suggestion will certainly be the 25 Lagoon Itinerary, leading you to some refreshing locations.

    In cold weather, Serra da Estrela is the only place in Portugal where you can try ski, or go sledging, snowboarding or ride a snowmobile. There are several pistes with support infrastructure, as well as synthetic snow pistes for skiing at any time of the year.

    This natural park is excellent for trekking, horse-riding or mountain biking. It boasts some 375km of marked trails of varying degrees of difficulty, so you’ll no doubt find one fitting your physical condition. And who has not dreamed of flying like a bird? You can experience the sensation para-gliding in Linhares da Beira, soaring over this historical village - which you shouldn’t miss exploring on foot either.


    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Torre, Serra da Estrela Portugal
    The highest point of continental Portugal and where there is the only ski resort in Portugal
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Lagoa Comprida, N339, Seia 6260-000 Portugal
    Dam at the top of Serra da Estrela
    Duration: 20 minutes

    Stop At: 6270 Sabugueiro, Portugal
    Sabugueiro, is the highest inhabited place in Portugal, we can see here the famous dogs of the region and with the same name of it: Dogs Serra Da Estrela

    Also we can prove here the sausages of the region and above all the cheese, for many considered the best cheese in the world: Serra da Estrela Cheese.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Porto, Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal
    > Arrival in Porto;
    > Check in;
    > Hotel not included in the cost of the program;
    Duration: 12 hours

    No meals included on this day.
    No accommodation included on this day.

    Day 6: Cruise in Douro River

    Stop At: Douro River, Porto Portugal
    08H15 – Board in Cais de Gaia.

    08h30–Departure to Régua.

    08h45 – Breakfast on board.

    09h45 – Crestuma/Lever’s Dam. Locking. Difference of 14 meters.

    12h30 – Appetizer.

    12H45 – Carrapatelo’s Dam. Locking. Difference of 35 meters.

    13h15 – Lunch on board.

    16h00 –Arrival to Régua.Landing of passengers.

    18h08 – Departure by train or bus until Oporto.

    20h30 – Arrival to Porto.
    Duration: 12 hours

    Stop At: Porto, Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal
    > Arrival at the hotel in Porto
    > Hotel not included in the cost of the program;
    Duration: 12 hours

    No meals included on this day.
    No accommodation included on this day.

    Day 7: Douro Valley

    Stop At: Peso Da Regua, Peso Da Regua, Vila Real District, Northern Portugal
    It is thought that the town´s name originated from the name of a Roman house that once stood here - the "Villa Reguela". Its great development was, however, only to begin after 1756 with the creation of the Real Companhia Geral da Agricultura das Vinhas do Alto Douro (Royal Company of Vine-Growers from the Alto Douro Region), which set up the world's first ever demarcated region for wine production.

    Situated on the banks of the River Douro, Peso da Régua played a fundamental role in the production and sale of Port wine, for it was from here that the barrels were transported in the special boats known as barcos rabelos to Vila Nova de Gaia, where the wine was left to age in the local wine lodges.

    In this region, the vines are grown on terraced slopes leading down to the river, providing visitors with a series of spectacular views, which are best admired from the area's many viewpoints, such as those of São Leonardo at Galafura and Santo António do Loureiro.

    In the surrounding area, the spa of Caldas de Moledo, which is situated on the right bank of the River Douro, has its own moorage points and is a most delightful place for those wishing to spend a relaxing holiday.
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: The Douro Valley, Lugar Da Ponte, Pinhao 5085-060 Portugal
    Departing from Porto, where the river flows into the sea and where the Douro wines (table wines and Port wine), produced on its hillsides, also end up, there are various ways to get to know this cultural landscape, listed as a World Heritage Site: by road, by train, on a cruise boat and even by helicopter. None will leave you indifferent.

    Following a route between the viewpoints that offer the best vistas, you need to cross the river from north to south and back again. But along the way you can admire breathtaking landscapes over the river and visit vineyards, towns and villages until you reach Miranda do Douro, the point at which the river enters Portugal.

    Start at Vila Nova de Gaia with a visit to the lodges where Port wine is aged. Here you will get to know this wine a little better, taking the opportunity – how could you do otherwise? - to taste the precious nectar. And you can still see the old rabelo boats on the river, the vessels that carried the wine from the quintas where it is produced to the mouth of river, before the various dams that made the river navigable were built.

    In Peso da Régua, the Douro Museum will provide a different perspective on the region and wine growing. Not far away, on the south bank, is Lamego, one of the most beautiful cities in Northern Portugal, located at the base of an immense blue and white tiled flight of steps leading to the Shrine of Nossa Senhora dos Remédios. In Pinhão, right by the river, the railway station is a must-see to admire its ancient tiles dedicated to the cultivation of vines.

    Before arriving in Pocinho, you can make a detour on the south bank to visit the castle of Numão and enjoy the view over the skyline. A little further to the east is the Vale do Coa Archaeological Park, an open-air rock art gallery, classified as a World Heritage Site, and the attached Museum in Vila Nova de Foz Coa.

    Once you get to Barca de Alva, you enter the International Douro Natural Park, as the river from here to Miranda do Douro makes the border between Portugal and Spain. At this point, the course of the river narrows, running between tall escarpments until it reaches the small border town on entering Portugal.

    The Douro Wine Region Valley, up to Barca de Alva, is the oldest demarcated wine region in the world. First, the river carved the deep valleys out of the land and then Man transformed the schist mountains into soil and walls and planted the vines, green in summer, flame-coloured in autumn. With knowledge handed down from generation to generation, he inclined the terraces to expose the vines to the rays of the sun which give the grapes the warmth that the wine craves. It was from the fruits of the land and Man’s labour that this unique wine and landscape were made
    Duration: 2 hours

    Stop At: Quinta do Crasto, Gouvinhas Gouvinhas, Sabrosa 5060-363 Portugal
    Located in a prime spot in the Douro Demarcated Region in Northern Portugal, Quinta do Crasto has been in the family of Leonor and Jorge Roquette for more than a century. Like all the other great Douro estates, Quinta do Crasto dates far back into ancient times. The name Crasto comes from the Latin castrum meaning “Roman fort”.
    The earliest records mentioning Quinta do Crasto and its wine production date back to 1615. It later received Feitoria status (the highest vineyard classification of the time), together with the other noteworthy estates of the Douro Valley. Between 1758 and 1761, the Marquis of Pombal ordered the installation of 335 granite markers – each standing two metres high and 30 x 20 centimetres – to delineate the first ever Demarcated Region in the world. One of these stone pillars, or “marcos pombalinos” in Portuguese, dates back to 1758 and can still be seen today at the Quinta do Crasto nearby the century-old farm house. In the 1940s, all of these markers were inventoried and declared property of national interest.
    In the early 20th century, Quinta do Crasto was bought by Constantino de Almeida, founder of the renowned Constantino wine house dedicated to the production and export of Port wine and brandy as well. Their slogan “A fama do Constantino já vem de longe” (“The fame of Constantino dates far back in the past”) has been so popular that it still remains until today. Following the death of Constantino de Almeida in 1923, his son Fernando Moreira d’Almeida took over the management of Quinta do Crasto and carried on the tradition of producing the highest possible quality Port wine.
    In 1981, Leonor Roquette, daughter of Fernando Moreira d’Almeida, together with her husband Jorge Roquette, took over majority ownership as well as the management of the estate. With their sons, they began the process of renovating and extending the vineyards. They also began producing the Douro DOC wines that Quinta do Crasto is now famous for domestically and abroad. They are, thus, the fourth generation of the family to manage this emblematic estate that seduces all with the exquisite quality that it confers upon all of its products.
    Quinta do Crasto today has a full range of products, from white and red Douro wines, to premium Port wines and Extra Virgin Olive oils. Prices vary, although the focus is on the premium and super premium products. In recent years, all of the Quinta do Crasto range has received great acclaim, both from the general public as well as specialised critics. Quinta do Crasto is especially proud that, year after year, their clients and partners have chosen to honour their brand with their preference.
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Porto, Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal
    > Arrival at the hotel in Porto
    > Hotel not included in the cost of the program;
    Duration: 12 hours

    No meals included on this day.
    No accommodation included on this day.

    Day 8: Porto City Tour

    Stop At: Porto, Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal
    The Porto Baixa (Downtown) is laid out around the Avenida dos Aliados (Avenue of the Allies), the city´s focal point. At the top of this thoroughfare, there is the imposing Municipal Council building. At the other end, it opens onto the Praça da Liberdade (Liberty Square) where there is a statue of a mounted Pedro IV (19th c.), emperor of Brazil and, like much of Oporto, a supporter of the Liberalism movement. In a show of recognition, the king literally gave his heart to the city, now watched over in the Church of Lapa.

    To the side of the square, take a look at the São Bento (Saint Benedict) railway station to see the pictured tiles in the entrance hall. Then head down the Rua das Flores (Street of Flowers), with its goldsmiths and the exuberant baroque façade of the Church of Misericórdia (Compassion), a masterpiece by architect Nicolau Nasoni.

    Surrounding this centre, there is a dense network of streets packed with stores and cafes. Of the latter, the magnificent Majestic and the cheerfully bustling Mercado do Bolhão are well worth a visit. On the streets 31 de Janeiro Galeria de Paris and Cândido dos Reis check out the facades with their Art Nouveau finishings.

    Heading up Rua de São Filipe Néry, there is the Church and Tower dos Clérigos (Ecclesiastics), the centrepiece of the city and the most original design by Nicolau Nasoni. From 75 metres up in the tower, there is a wonderful panoramic view over the city of Porto and beyond. On the way, nip into the Lello bookshop and admire the lavish decoration bestowed on this temple to culture.
    Duration: 2 hours

    Stop At: Cafe Majestic, Rua Caterina, Porto Portugal
    O Café Majestic é um café histórico, localizado na Rua de Santa Catarina, na cidade do Porto, em Portugal.

    A sua relevância advém tanto da ambiência cultural que o envolve, nomeadamente a tradição do café tertúlia, onde se encontravam várias personalidades da vida cultural e artística da cidade, como também da sua arquitectura de identidade Arte Nova. Em 2011, foi considerado o sexto café mais bonito do mundo.[1][2]
    Duration: 15 minutes

    Stop At: Livraria Lello, Rua Carmelitas 144 Vitória, Porto 4050-161 Portugal
    Livraria Lello, also known as Livraria Lello & Irmão or Livraria Chardron, is located at Rua das Carmelitas, 144, in the Historic Center of the city of Porto, in Portugal.

    Due to its unique historical and artistic value, Lello has been recognized as one of the most beautiful bookstores in the world by several personalities and entities, such as the Spanish writer Enrique Vila-Matas, the British newspaper The Guardian and the Australian publisher of travel guides. Lonely Planet travel.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Torre dos Clerigos, Rua Sao Filipe Neri, Porto 4050-546 Portugal
    Genuine baroque work by Nicolau Nasoni, an ex-libris monument of the city of Porto.

    The Church of Clérigos (Ecclesiastics) is a genuine baroque masterpiece dating from the mid-18th century. It was designed by Nicolau Nasoni, an architect of Italian origin. He stamped his mark on many monuments around Oporto and the north of Portugal. Nasoni, on his request, was buried here in a small chapel with its gateway at the same level as the top of the double bolster stairway.

    The front of the church shows off its highly interesting and beautiful baroque finishing with its contours, domes and spires worthy of closer inspection. The interior has but a single nave in granite and marble and covered in baroque carvings again demonstrating the skill of the architect. In the main chapel, attention is drawn to the polychromatic altarpiece by Manuel Porto.

    However, what sets this construction apart is the Tower; constructed in granite protruding out of the top of the western side of the church. This is the highly distinctive landmark of Oporto. The tower extends upwards through 75 metres of elegance forming rhythmic stages before rising to its crowning glory, the spherical clock house. The baroque decoration is thoroughly delicate and off a wonderful lightness.

    In 1917, the Tower of Clérigos was successfully climbed by two Spanish acrobats, the Puertullanos, a father and son team, in front of an enormous crowd. This is a feat that, on looking up at the Tower, would seem impossible.

    An inner staircase (240 degrees) enables access to the top. For those wishing to avoid the feats of the Puertullanos this is the best means to gain access to one of the most beautiful panoramic views over all of Oporto.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Sao Bento Railway Station, Praca Almeida Garrett, Porto 4000-069 Portugal
    The corner stone was unveiled in 1900 by king Carlos I on the site of the former convent S. Bento de Avé Maria (Saint Benedict of Hail Mary). The initial project was designed by architect Marques da Silva with its external lines demonstrating then contemporary French influences.

    Well worth a visit is the huge entrance hall covered with some twenty thousand pictorial tiles. The work of Jorge Colaço, they feature historical and ethnographic images. The coloured frieze running around the entire atrium details various forms of transport in chronological order from the earliest times through to the appearance of the train. Below, great panels depict scenes from the history of Portugal.

    On the northern wall, the upper panel depicts a scene from the Valdevez Archery Tournament while below there is a greeting from Egas Moniz. On the southern wall, the upper panel features the royal entry of João I into Oporto, with his bride, Philippa of Lancaster, and the lower scenes from the Ceuta Chronicles. Other small panels show aspects of regional life.
    Duration: 20 minutes

    Stop At: Porto Cathedral (Se Catedral), Terreiro Se, Porto 4050-573 Portugal
    Sé Catedral do Porto

    The many names of Marian Devotion.

    Porto Cathedral, like the first band of city walls, was born in the 12th century by initiative of its first bishop, D. Hugo. The temple is also known as the church of Santa Maria do Porto, de Nossa Senhora do Porto da Eterna Salvação or Nossa Senhora da Vandoma – which attests to the importance the Marian cult has.

    The building reached its present dimensions in the 13th century, and the following century the cloister was added on, built in Gothic style, as was the tomb of the Knight João Gordo in the chapel of St. John the Evangelist.

    Kings D. João I and D. Filipa de Lencastre were married in Porto Cathedral, also in the 14th century, on February 14, 1387. The people of Porto dressed in their finery and the city was covered with flowers and fragrant herbs for the celebration feast.

    Later, in the 17th and 18th centuries, the exterior and interior look of the cathedral was changed by baroque taste. The transformation of the portal (which still conserves the medieval rose window), the north facade and several other sites, such as the main chapel and the chapel of the Blessed Sacrament, which has since housed a large silver altarpiece, executed by goldsmiths from Porto, stem from this period.

    Various altarpieces and chapels show the Marian cult under different titles, such Nossa Senhora do Presépio, Nossa Senhora da Silva, Nossa Senhora da Piedade, Nossa Senhora da Esperança, Nossa Senhora da Expectação, Nossa Senhora da Conceição and Nossa Senhora da Vandoma – with this latter being the most important, as the patron of the city and included in the municipal coat of arms since the 16th century.

    Also part of this architectural trove is the grandiose building of the Episcopal Palace, whose construction dates back to the 12th century.
    Duration: 30 minutes

    Stop At: Ribeira, Porto, Portugal
    Ribeira is one of the oldest and most typical places in the city of Porto, in Portugal. Located in the parish of São Nicolau, next to the Douro River, it is part of the Historic Center of Porto, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is currently an area very frequented by tourists and a place of concentration of bars and restaurants.

    In Ribeira, Praça da Ribeira, popularly also known as Praça do Cubo, is worth mentioning; Rua da Fonte Taurina, one of the oldest in the city; the Wall of Bacalhoeiros and the Casa do Infante, where Infante D. Henrique is believed to have been born in 1394. It was in this area of Porto that one of the most charismatic figures of the city lived, the so-called Duque da Ribeira, known for having saved several drowning people.

    Lunch Time!
    Duration: 2 hours

    Stop At: Igreja de Sao Francisco, Rua do Infante Dom Henrique, Porto 4050-297 Portugal
    The Church of São Francisco was built in the 14th century, during the reign of King D. Fernando, on the site of a modest church pertaining to the order of Franciscan Friars who had established a presence in the city of Oporto in 1223.

    The layout of the Church follows the rules of the mendicant Gothic style - with three naves, a prominent transept and a tripartite top section, with a main chapel inside. Several innovative elements were introduced, such as the decoration of balls in the window slits of the main chapel.

    In the 16th century, João de Castilho designed the chapel of São João Baptista, but it was only in the 18th-century that the main works were carried out, resulting in this magnificent Baroque church that has been preserved to the present day, and which appears to be covered in gold, due to the abundance of gilt-edged woodcarvings.

    The woodcarvings inside the church include the notable altarpiece of the main chapel, dedicated to the Tree of Jessé, reformulated between 1718 and 1721 by Filipe da Silva and António Gomes.


    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Palacio da Bolsa, Rua Ferreira Borges, Porto 4050-253 Portugal
    The Palácio da Bolsa (Stock Exchange) is one of the most important historic monuments in Porto and one of the sights that must definitely be on the list of all visitors to the city.

    It was built in the second half of the 19th century in the neoclassical style and was destined to become the headquarters of the Porto Commercial Association, which reflects the importance of this activity in the city’s history. The building began to be used as the Stock Exchange at the orders of the queen Dona Maria II in 1841, although it was handed back to the Association in 1911.

    Designed by the Porto architect Joaquim da Costa Lima Júnior, the building is quite remarkable in architectural terms, making unmistakable references to English Palladianism and other buildings in the city, such as the Hospital de Santo António designed by John Carr, the Academia da Marinha e Comércio (Naval Academy) by Carlos Amarante (the present-day Science Faculty) and the Feitoria Inglesa (Factory House) by John Whitehead.

    Inside, it is worth visiting the Pátio das Nações (the main courtyard) and the magnificent Salão Árabe (Arabian Hall). Neo-Moorish in style, this is a unique space of great decorative wealth created by Gonçalves e Sousa in 1862. It was here that the most important official ceremonies in the city were once held, with receptions being organised for many of the world’s leading statesmen. It is now used for cultural events.
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Ferreira Cellars, Avenida Ramos Pinto 70, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-266 Portugal
    Four unique locations in which to explore the different facets of Porto Wine in a relaxed yet informed way

    Throughout the vineyard-rich Douro region and the ageing cellars at Vila Nova de Gaia, the individuality of each estate and wine cellar presents visitors with a unique experience, steeped in the tradition, history and identity of centuries-old Porto wine brands.
    Duration: 1 hour

    Stop At: Porto, Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal
    > Arrival at the hotel in Porto
    > Hotel not included in the cost of the program;
    Duration: 12 hours

    No meals included on this day.
    No accommodation included on this day.

    Day 9: Transfer to Lisbon or Porto Airport

    Stop At: Lisbon, Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal
    If the option is to take the flight to Lisbon, you can schedule the day to visit Aveiro on your return to Lisbon, if the flight schedule allows
    Duration: 5 hours

    Stop At: Lisbon, Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal
    If the option is to take the flight to Lisbon, if the flight schedule does not allow stopping in Aveiro, the trip will be direct
    Duration: 3 hours

    Stop At: Porto, Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal
    If the option is to take the flight in Porto, the transfer will be made directly from the hotel in Porto to Porto airport, in convenience with the flight schedule
    Duration: 1 hour

    No meals included on this day.
    No accommodation included on this day.
  • Departure Point :
    Traveler pickup is offered
    Your address in LisbonAirports
    • Lisboa Airport, Alameda das Comunidades Portuguesas, Lisbon 1700-111 Portugal
    Ports
    • Cruise Port, Santo Estêvão, 1100 Lisbon, Portugal
    Departure Time :
    9:00 AM
    Return Detail :
    -
    Hotel Pickup :
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Infant seats available
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    • Face masks provided for travelers
    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
    • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
  • You can present either a paper or an electronic voucher for this activity.
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

Language

English - Guide

Age Req.

-

Fitness Req.

None

Group Size

15

Organised by abc Travel

Activity ID: V-14365P101

More like this

Is this your business?

If this is your business, Claim Your Listing so you can manage and update your profile through our Business Portal.

Or you can improve this listing by Suggesting an Edit .