Fatima, Nazare & Obidos Full Day Tour
The Portuguese people have a rich and fascinating religious history. Even today, there are several religious and spiritual traditions that thrive in the country. Portugal is a route of temples, cults and religious festivals, where we can walk full of faith or more universal root spirituality, whether in search of the sacred or ourselves. There are many reasons to visit, from the journey of cathedrals to the discovery of chapels, monasteries in a unique surrounding between culture and heritage.
We´re specialized in services and unique travel experiences in Portugal.
Our experience is your guarantee that we understand, meet and exceed your expectations. We invite you to experience the authenticity of a full day tour through Fatima, Battle, Nazareth & Obidos.
Where you will know the best of Portugal!
per adult from
What's included :
- Free Wifi Internet
- Air-conditioned vehicle
- Bottled water
- Private transportation
What's excluded :
- Tickets / Meals / Gratuities
- Any Private Expenses
- Entry/Admission - Batalha Monastery
- This is a typical itinerary for this product
Stop At: Church of Nossa Senhora do Rosario de Fatima, Av. Marques de Tomar Avenidas Novas, Lisbon 1050-154 Portugal
The Sanctuary of Fatima annually welcomes hundreds of thousands of pilgrims and tourists. Many come to participate in the celebrations that commemorate the apparitions of Our Lady to the three witnesses of Fatima.
In the Fatima calendar, the dates May 13th (the first apparition) and October 13th mean the rise in the numbers visiting the Sanctuary - built on the site of the first apparition - and the places where the three children lived in Aljustrel, a village located around two kilometers away.
In Aljustrel, there is a religious route tracing the spots where Lucia de Jesus, aged 10, and cousins Francisco and Jacinta Marto, aged nine and seven respectively, declared they saw the Angel of Our Lady of Fatima.
Between April and October 1916, the three children bore witness that they saw the Angel on three occasions with them being invited to join in prayer and penitence.
In May 1917, the children were tending to a small flock of sheep in Cova da Iria, within the parish of Fatima, in the council of Vila Nova de Ourém. Around mid-day, after saying the rosary was their custom, they set about building a small building out of loose stones on the spot where there is now the Basilica.
Suddenly, they saw a bright light and above a small holm-oak tree (where the Chapel of the Apparitions now is) appeared to a 'Lady more brilliant than the Sun'. The Lady told the three shepherds that much prayer was required and invited them to return to Cova da Iria at the same time on the 13th of each of the following five months.
The children did just that and on the 13th of June, July, September and October, the Lady again appeared before them and talked to them.
On 19th August, there was an apparition at Valinhos, some 500 meters from Aljustrel, as, on that 13th, the children had been taken by the Council Administrator to Vila Nova de Ourém.
For the final apparition, on 13th October, around 70,000 people were in attendance, the Lady told them she was the "Lady of the Rosary" and that they were to build a chapel there in Her honor.
After the apparition, all those observed the miracle, promised to the three children in July and September: the sun, resembling a silver disc, could be looked upon without difficulty. It then began rotating, taking the form of a wheel of fire, seeming to disappear into the earth.
Later, in Spain, Lucia, who joined the order of Saint Dorothy, experienced a further three visions of Our Lady (10th December 1925, 15th February 1926 and during the night of 13th to 14th June 1929).
The vision called for the first five Saturdays to be devoted to the conversion of Russia to the Immaculate Heart of Mary.
This final request was part of the «Three Secrets of Fatima» - a set of revelations made to Lucia by Our Lady. Lucia later wrote to Pope Pius XIIth to inform him of what had been revealed to her.
On 13th October 1930, the Bishop of Leiria gave the seal of church approval to the apparitions, officially authorizing worship of Our Lady of Fatima, declaring it «Divine Providence».
13th May 2000, Pope John Paul II visited Fatima to beatify the witnesses Francisco and Jacinta Marto.
Duration: 1 hour
Stop At: Os Tres Pastorinhos, Rotunda dos Pastorinhos, Fatima 2495-413 Portugal
The three shepherd children to whom Our Lady appeared - Lucia and her cousins, Francisco and Jacinta - were born in the small village of Aljustrel, around 2 kms from the sanctuary of Fatima.
The single-storey cottages formerly inhabited by the little shepherds are very similar in terms of architecture and simplicity and are open to the general public. The house inhabited by the brother and sister, Jacinta and Francisco was built in 1888 and is located around 200 m from the house of their cousin, Lucia, built in 1885. The House-Museum of Aljustrel is located next to the latter, displaying agricultural implements, cooking utensils, clothes and furniture, in order to demonstrate the everyday lives of local mountain dwellers in the early 20th century.
Duration: 1 hour
Stop At: Batalha Monastery, Largo Infante Dom Henrique 2440, Batalha 2440-484 Portugal
Monastery of Santa Maria da Vitoria (or Monastery of Batalha) is one of the most fascinating places in the Iberian Peninsula.
The decisive event for the consolidation of the Portuguese nation took place on August 14, 1385, near the spot where the Monastery of Batalha stands: D. João, Master of Avis and the future king of Portugal, overcame the Castilian armies in the battle of Aljubarrota. This victory put an end to a dynastic crisis that had dragged on since 1383, since the death of King Ferdinand, whose only daughter was married to the King of Castile, an aspirant to the throne of Portugal.
D. John dedicated the monastery to the Virgin Mary, who he had invoked to intercede his triumph and donated it to the Dominican Order, to which his confessor belonged. This gave way to the birth of a work whose construction would last for almost two centuries and which resulted in one of the most fascinating Gothic monuments of the Iberian Peninsula. The construction of the monastery also embodied the consecration of King John I as king of Portugal, thus assuming itself as a symbol of the new dynasty and legitimized by divine will.
Its architectural value and historical significance spurred the classification of the monument as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983.
The construction included seven reigns of the second dynasty (1385-1580) and involved a large team of master masons of a high level, both national and foreign, that were initially directed by Afonso Domingues, until his death, in 1402. , part of the church and the royal cloister were erected. He was succeeded by Master Huguet, an Englishman, who by 1438 completed the church, built the chapel of the founder, and began working on the pantheon of D. Duarte. Between 1448 and 1477, Ferdinand of Evora designed the cloister of D. Afonso V, and in the 16th century, Matthew Fernandes was responsible for the Unfinished Chapels.
The monastery houses the most important nucleus of Portuguese medieval stained glass windows, which can be admired in the Chapel and the Chapter Hall. The central nave of the church stands at 32.5 meters and rests on eight columns on either side. In addition to the chapels and the cloisters, the monastery's dormitory, dining room and kitchen can also be visited.
The square outside was once largely occupied by the Cloister of D. John III. Burned down during the Napoleonic Wars, it was demolished during renovation works undertaken in the mid-nineteenth century. In the middle of the square you will see a tombstone that replicates the acronyms of several masons and marks the site of the old Santa Maria-a-Velha Church, the original temple where the monastery's builders attended the liturgical services.
Duration: 30 minutes
Stop At: Nazare, Nazare, Leiria District, Central Portugal
A typical fishing town, Nazareth is nowadays a busy summer resort, where side by side with the crowds of tourists, one still sees all over the streets of the town the fish-sellers, and the horse mackerel laid out to dry. The District site, at the town's highest point (accessible by a funicular), is without doubt the best viewpoint in the area. But it is also associated with the cult of Our Lady of Nazareth who, according to the 12th century legend, was invoked by the mayor (commander of a fortress or castle) Dom Fuas Bathrobe who, while stalking a deer, was about to fall down into an abyss with no possible salvation. As a sign of gratitude for the mercy he received, Dom Fuas Bathrobe ordered a small chapel to be built - the Hermitage of Memory. A little way away, in the 18th century the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Nazareth was built, in whose honor grandiose festivals are held in September.
The Nazareth people's connection to the sea is reflected in the local handicrafts, in particular the nets, buoys, baskets and traditional puppets dressed in the typical costumes of seven skirts, as well as in the cuisine, with its emphasis on fish and shellfish dishes, such as fish caseroles, soups, purée of bread, herbs and garlic and the dried horse mackerel.
The most important feature of the surrounding area is the 7th century Chapel of São Gião, one of the rare holy places of the Visigoths existing in Portugal.
Duration: 2 hours
Stop At: Obidos Village, Obidos Portugal
The delightful town of Óbidos, with white houses adorned with bougainvilleas and honeysuckle was captured from the Moors by the first king of Portugal, D. Afonso Henriques, in 1148. D. Dinis later presented to his wife, Queen Santa Isabel. From then until 1883, the town of Óbidos and the surrounding land was always the property of the queens of Portugal.
Encircled by a ring of medieval walls and crowned by the Moorish castle rebuilt by D. Dinis, which is now the inn, Óbidos is one of the most perfect examples of our medieval fortress. It is in olden times, the town is entered through the southern gate of Santa Maria, embellished with eighteenth-century tile decoration.
Inside the walls, which at sunset take on a golden coloring, one can sense a cheerful medieval ambience of winding streets, old whitewashed houses bordered with blue or yellow, Manueline embrasures and windows, reminding us that King D. Manuel I (sixteenth century) carried out major works here, and masses of colorful flowers and plants.
Be sure to visit the Parish Church of Santa Maria, the pretty Chapel of St. Martin and, outside the town walls, the Church of the Lord of the Stone).
Among the events that take place every year in Óbidos, the most important are the Holy Week Festivities (recreating the steps on the Way of the Cross), the Ancient Music Festival in October and, for the more gluttinous, the International Chocolate festival in March , which includes an international competition in which the recipes are judged by an international jury of experts.
Duration: 1 hour
Departure Point :Traveler pickup is offered
Free pickup from any hotel or accommodation in Lisbon. Please provide pickup adressThis a custom-made tour so you may choose your starting time.Airports
- Lisboa Airport, Alameda das Comunidades Portuguesas, Lisbon 1700-111 Portugal
- Cruise Port of Lisbon
Departure Time :11/26/2019 - 10/26/2021
Monday - Sunday: 06:00 AM - 07:00 PM
Return Detail :-
Hotel Pickup :
- Confirmation will be received at time of booking
- Infant seats available
- Near public transportation
- Stroller accessible
- Not wheelchair accessible
- Most travelers can participate
- This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
- You can present either a paper or an electronic voucher for this activity.
- For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.