On the tracks of Count Dracula. Brasov, Bran Castle, Sighisoara, Private tour
On this trip the travelers can learn about the Legend of Dracula same time visiting ancient sites which will bring them back in time. As Transilvania was a border between the east and west cultures travelers will find countless testimonies of the struggle that Europe passed through during Dark Ages. From castles, fortified churches or legends this tour has a lot to offer.
per adult from
6 to 8 hours
Hotel pickup available
What's included :
- Private transportation
What's excluded :
- Entry/Admission - Bran Castle (Dracula's Castle)
- Entry/Admission - Cetatea Rupea
- Entry/Admission - Village de Viscri
- Entry/Admission - Sighisoara Historic Center
- This is a typical itinerary for this product
Stop At: Bran Castle (Dracula's Castle), Str. General Traian Mosoiu nr. 24, Bran 507025 Romania
Wooden castle of the German Order
In 1212, the Teutonic Order built the wooden castle of Dietrichstein as a fortified position in the Burzenland at the entrance to a mountain pass through which traders had travelled for more than a millennium. This castle was destroyed by the Mongols in 1242.
The original name of the castle, Dietrichstein or lapis Theoderici in Latin, lit. "Dietrich's Stone", seems to have been derived from the Comthur (Commander) and regional Preceptor, frater Theodericus, mentioned in a 1212 document. This Dietrich is the probable builder of the castle. A 1509 document confirms that the Törzburg county had once belonged to Commander Dietrich of the Teutonic Order.
Stone castle of the Kronstadt Saxons
The first documented mentioning of Bran Castle is the act issued by Louis I of Hungary on 19 November 1377, giving the Saxons of Kronstadt (modern Brașov) the privilege to build the stone castle at their own expense and labour force; the settlement of Bran began to develop nearby. In 1438–1442, the castle was used in defense against the Ottoman Empire, and later became a customs post on the mountain pass between Transylvania and Wallachia. Although many castles of the time belonged to members of nobility, it has been established that Bran Castle was built almost exclusively for fortification and protection of German colonists in Transylvania.It is believed the castle was briefly held by Mircea the Elder of Wallachia (r. 1386–95, 1397–1418) during whose period the customs point was established. The Wallachian ruler Vlad Țepeș (Vlad the Impaler; 1448–1476) does not seem to have had a significant role in the history of the fortress, although he passed several times through the Bran Gorge. At some point Bran Castle belonged to the Hungarian kings, but due to the failure of King Vladislas II (r. 1471–1516) to repay loans, the city of Brașov regained possession of the fortress in 1533. Bran played a militarily strategic role up to the mid-18th century (source wikipedia.com)
Duration: 2 hours
Stop At: Cetatea Rupea, Strada Cetatii, Rupea 505500 Romania
Rupea Citadel (Romanian: Cetatea Rupea, German: Burg Reps, Hungarian: Kőhalmi vár) is one of the oldest archaeological sites in Romania, the first signs of human settlements dating from the Paleolithic and early Neolithic.
The first documentary attestation dates from 1324 when the Saxons revolted against King Charles I of Hungary and took refuge inside the citadel. According to archaeologists, the current citadel was built on the ruins of a former Dacian defense fort conquered by the Romans. The name of the citadel comes from Latin rupes meaning "stone". From the 10th century, the citadel experienced a systematic expansion, so that in the 14th century it had a key strategic role, being the main linking point between Transylvania, Moldavia and Wallachia.
A popular legend in the area tells that Dacian king Decebalus would commit suicide within the citadel, during the Second Dacian War (105–106), when the citadel was known as Ramidava.
Rupea Citadel is situated in the west of Rupea, on a 120 m-high basalt massive. The citadel is located on DN13, 70 km from Brașov, on the road to Sighișoara. The citadel is visited each month by more than 10,000 tourists. source wikipedia
Duration: 1 hour
Stop At: Village de Viscri, Rue Principale, Viscri 507039 Romania
Background and church
The weißkirch ("white church") in the village's German name refers to a chapel built by the Székely inhabitants who lived there prior to the Saxons' arrival between 1141 and 1162, during the reign of Géza II. The building was rectangular, with a semicircular altar of greenish-white limestone. Four Romanesque capitals that survive in the choir, including one used as a baptismal font, also originate in this period. Coins and earrings found in graves both inside and outside the chapel were initially thought to date from the reign of Coloman (1095–1116), but a re-evaluation found that the oldest coin came from the late reign of Géza II, suggesting the remains were of Saxons rather than Székely.
The hall church interior with its wooden gallery
In the 13th century, the Saxons built a Romanesque hall church that integrated the chapel but also introduced changes, such as a wooden seat gallery at the western end. The apse, its altar possibly of the Romanesque period, features a scalloped capital unique to Transylvania. The design was popular in 12th-century Germany but disappeared soon after reaching Austria, suggesting the church dates to no later than the first half of the 13th century.
In the 14th century the church became a community church. The apse was replaced by a larger trapezoidal choir. The church was fortified around 1500: the hall was lengthened and linked to the keep, formerly freestanding and probably belonging to the family of a count. Another level was added to the keep, used for bells and fitted with a battlement that stayed on corbels. The roof featured a sixth level with embrasures for firing. The choir's defensive level was demolished in 1743. Due to the peaceful nature of the period, the church battlement was taken down after that time, replaced by grain storerooms for the villagers. The interior ceiling has a ceiling divided into squares, also from 1743, around which time the austere furnishings were put in place.
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Stop At: Sighisoara Historic Center, Piata Cetatii Nr.1 Center of Sighisoara, Sighisoara 545400 Romania
According to ancient military architectures writings, the defence towers had to be a fortification system for the mutual defense, and, at the same time, each tower was supposed to be an independent fortress: a break at the base of a tower did not mean entering into the city, capturing a tower did not have to lead to the conquest of the city. Most of these towers were hollow and equipped with elevators and underground galleries.
Sighișoara Clock Tower (Turnul cu Ceas) - the landmark of the city is a 64 m-high tower built in the 13th century. Today it is a museum of history.
The Tinsmiths' Tower (Turnul Cositorarilor)
The Butchers' Tower (Turnul Măcelarilor)
The Bootmakers' Tower
The Tailors' Tower (Turnul Croitorilor)
The Furriers' Tower (Turnul Cojocarilor)
The Ironsmiths' Tower (Turnul Fierarilor)
The Ropemakers' Tower (Turnul Frânghierilor)
The Tanners' Tower (Turnul Tăbăcarilor)
The Face Tower - tower on the route to Târgu Mureș, out of the citadel, but still worth visiting thanks to its story.
Duration: 2 hours
Departure Point :Bulevardul Gării 21, Brașov 500218, Romania
Traveler pickup is offered
We will be in contact for last details by email or phone
Departure Time :8:30 AM
Return Detail :Returns to original departure point
Hotel Pickup :
- Confirmation will be received at time of booking
- Not wheelchair accessible
- Service animals allowed
- Near public transportation
- No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
- Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
- This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
- This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
- This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
- You can present either a paper or an electronic voucher for this activity.
- For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.