Ouro Preto and Mariana, MG
A special product for those who want to experience the experience of knowing the history of social and cultural development of the bases of Brazil
per adult from
What's included :
- Air-conditioned vehicle
- WiFi on board
What's excluded :
- Rates of attraction
- Entry/Admission - Aleijadinho Museum
- Entry/Admission - Museu da Inconfidencia
- Entry/Admission - Igreja Nossa Senhora do Rosario
- Entry/Admission - Minas da Passagem
- This is a typical itinerary for this product
Stop At: Aleijadinho Museum, Praca Antonio Dias, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000 Brazil
The Church was erected by the Third Order of St. Francis of Assisi. Around 1765 began the preparation of the land, and in 1766 the works were finished by the master mason Domingos Moreira de Oliveira, following a project of Aleijadinho. However, the official authorization for the erection of the temple only came in 1771. As was the custom at the time, construction began from the chancel. The works ran fast, and in 1774 was already covered, beginning the internal decoration in carving and stucco under the direction of Aleijadinho. From it are the soapstone pulpits installed next to the arch of the cruise. The main altar was erected between 1790 and 1794.
Its denomination honors the artist gold-pretano Antônio Francisco Lisboa, the Aleijadinho, son of Manoel Francisco Lisboa, constructor of the Sanctuary of Our Lady of the Conception. Created in 1968 by the then Parish Priest of the Church of Our Lady of the Conception of Antônio Dias, Francisco Barroso Filho, the museum brings together pieces of sacred art and documents from the collection of the Parish of Nossa Senhora da Conceição.
Duration: 45 minutes
Stop At: Praca Tiradentes, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000 Brazil
The place where today stands Tiradentes Square, in Ouro Preto, was known in the eighteenth century as Morro de Santa Quiteria and for almost the whole of the 19th century, it was called Independence Square.
In 1894, with the inauguration of the Monument in honor of Tiradentes, it was renamed Praça Tiradentes. Around 1750, the architectural complex of the square began to form. In 1748, approximately, the new Palace of the Governors began to operate in the place. Today Tiradentes Square is marked by two imposing buildings: the Museum of Inconfidence (former House of the Chamber and Chain - 1784) and the Museum of Science and Technology (former Palace of the Governors).
Composing the whole, there is an admirable colonial house where they stand out: - Set Alpoim: are several houses that would have been designed by Brigadier José FernandePinto Alpoim, ranging from number 52 to 70. Among them is the house of Dom Manoel de Portugal and Castro, who was the last governor of the Captaincy of Minas Gerais in the colonial period.
The three grills of the balconies are curious; in them are the inscription: "to memory of the immortal benefit thy name is engraved in this metal." There is a legend that says that the governor's mistress would have had it inscribed on the balcony of his house. - House of the Baroness. Nº 33. - City Hall and Tourist Information Office. Nº 41. - The Student Restaurant - REMOP. In this place, in century XVIII, existed the Holy House of Mercy. The current building, in neoclassical style, has already served as a forum at the beginning of the century.
Duration: 45 minutes
Stop At: Museu da Inconfidencia, Praca Tiradentes 139, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000 Brazil
The Museum of Inconfidence had its original embryo in Getúlio Vargas' decision in 1936 to rescue the remains of the heroes of the Inconfidência Mineira, then buried in Africa, where they had been exiled.
This decision was part of a larger movement to recover the memory of the Brazilian colonial period and its monuments, and at the same time the national body for the defense of Brazilian historical and artistic heritage, IPHAN, was created.
Duration: 1 hour
Stop At: Igreja Nossa Senhora do Rosario, Largo do Rosario s/n, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000 Brazil
The temple was founded by the Brotherhood of Our Lady of the Rosary of the Black Men, who was constituted in 1715. At first the Brotherhood did not have its own place of worship, and it worked next to the Matrix of Our Lady of the Pillar. One year after its foundation, the brothers bought a chapel in the Kaquende district, where they maintained their devotions until 1733, the year in which the Blessed Sacrament, kept there while the Matrix underwent reform, of the Rosary back to his house in Pilar. For the passage of the procession, a sumptuous festival that became famous in local history, called Eucharistic Triumph, the Brotherhood of the Blacks opened a street, the current Getúlio Vargas street.
In exchange for this favor, in 1753 permission was given for the construction of a more imposing temple, and in 1761 the Ouro Preto Chamber granted the brothers a large plot in the vicinity of their chapel.
Duration: 1 hour
Stop At: Igreja de Sao Pedro dos Clerigos, Rua Dom Silverio S/N, Mariana, State of Minas Gerais 35420-000 Brazil
The Church of São Pedro dos Clérigos is an important baroque Catholic temple in the municipality of Mariana, Minas Gerais, Brazil. It was built by the Brotherhood of São Pedro dos Clérigos, composed of secular priests.
Duration: 30 minutes
Stop At: Praca Minas Gerais, Rua Dom Silverio, Mariana, State of Minas Gerais 35420-000 Brazil
The Minas Gerais Square is located in the center of the municipality of Mariana, and is part of the Cultural Heritage of the State of Minas Gerais, Brazil. is surrounded by important historical monuments of the colonial period, was part of the gold route and today is an important tourist spot of the municipality. In the center is the Pelourinho built in 1970 (the original pillory was executed by José Moreira Matos in 1750 and demolished in 1870), symbol of state power and place of public punishment for criminals or slaves. It was also the place where the public notices were read and the news of Portugal was announced.
Its stone structure now has in its composition the coat of arms of the Portuguese Crown, a scale to symbolize justice, a globe representing the maritime conquests, a sword that signifies condemnation and a small cross representing the Catholic Religion that deliberated and justified the powers of the King.
Duration: 30 minutes
Stop At: Minas da Passagem, Rua Eugenio Eduardo Rapallo 192, Mariana, State of Minas Gerais 35420-000 Brazil
The largest gold mine open to the world, the Passage Mine holds secrets and mysteries that enchant everyone. The descent into the underground galleries is done in an unusual way, through a trolley. The course is 315 meters long and reaches 120 meters deep, where you can see a beautiful lake with crystalline waters, formed by the aquifers that flooded miles of tunnels when they stopped being pumped. Diving into this underwater world is possible through a specialized company. The scenery inside the mine impresses everyone, with its galleries, halls and columns. There is also no way to forget the human side, the sacrifice of those who have digged the insides of the mountain in search of riches. The temperature is stable all year round, between 17 ° and 20 ° C. Since its foundation, at the beginning of the 18th century, approximately 35 tons of gold have been removed.
Duration: 1 hour
Departure Point :Minas Ecoturismo - Agência Belo Horizonte, R. Cotegipe, 15 - Horto, Belo Horizonte - MG, 31035-050, Brazil
Traveler pickup is offered
We do your boarding / disembarkation at the combined point, either hotel or airport.
Departure Time :Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods. 9/5/2019 - 10/21/2021
Monday - Sunday: 06:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Return Detail :Returns to original departure point
Hotel Pickup :
- Confirmation will be received at time of booking
- A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
- Not wheelchair accessible
- Stroller accessible
- Near public transportation
- Infants must sit on laps
- Most travelers can participate
- This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
- This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
- This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
- You can present either a paper or an electronic voucher for this activity.
- For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.